Architecture Award External History / Theory

2021 IAWA Kristine Fallon Prize

Deadline: December 1, 2021 12:00 am

Source: International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) Center, Virginia Tech

Apply Now

Description: The IAWA Center announces the 2021 IAWA Kristine Fallon Prize, inviting professionals and scholars to extend research into an important arena – women in architecture who have made significant contributions to the field through their work practicing at large U.S. firms in the second half of the 20th century. With important contributions made by women at large firms fundamentally unknown, research that documents this information is urgent. The IAWA Mission encourages such research in addition to the goal of preserving archival materials related to the work of women who shaped the designed environment, thus preserving for prosperity a record of their achievements. The recipient of the 2021 IAWA Kristine Fallon Prize will be selected through a jury process. The award will be granted to the best original work that addresses the call above. In the event that the jury finds no submission of adequate originality, substance and quality, the jury may decline to grant the Prize.

Award: $5000 prize will be awarded in two installments: $2,000 will be made available to the recipient upon announcement of the award in early January 2022 with the remaining $3000 of the award granted upon the presentation of the work during the 2022 IAWA Center Symposium in March at Virginia Tech. To complete the record of the prize, a copy of the final published work must also be donated to the IAWA.

Eligibility: The work submitted should be recently published (within the last five years) or publication-ready articles, chapters, books, manuscripts, dissertations, or exhibition catalogs, and should advance recognition of women’s contributions in architecture as framed above.

Deadline: Dec. 1, 2021