Architecture Competition External Landscape Architecture Urbanism

Northwest Arkansas Design Excellence Program

Deadline: October 1, 2021 3:00 pm

Source: Walton Family Foundation

Apply Now

Description: The Northwest Arkansas Design Excellence Program promotes the highest level of design in the development of public buildings and spaces in Arkansas’ Benton and Washington counties. In 2021, the foundation is seeking statements of qualifications from architects, landscape architects, and urban designers. The Design Excellence Program selects professionals and projects based on four key principles: a commitment to strengthening public life; elevating standards of sustainability and resilience; celebrating local cultures and place; and building regional capacity. It is designed to accommodate nationally recognized, multi-disciplinary firms; smaller specialty firms; and young designers who may not yet be discovered. If selected, designers may participate for up to five years, or until they are chosen for a project. The program currently includes nearly fifty architecture and landscape architecture firms from fourteen states, Canada, and Denmark. See website for more info.

Award: Participation in the Design Excellence Program for up to five years or until selection for a project. Selection does not guarantee an interview for a project, nor does it guarantee that a project will ultimately be approved.

Eligibility: Design professionals, including those with experience in architecture, landscape architecture and urban design are encouraged to apply. This year’s application cycle places particular emphasis on firms with experience in inclusive and equitable public engagement, firms that would be interested in innovative neighborhood-scale projects, and firms with experience in mixed-income and missing middle housing.

Deadline: 5 pm CT, Oct. 1, 2021